Welcome to
Whittier Area Cooperative Special Education Program (WACSEP)

Thank you for visiting the new WACSEP website. WACSEP has a long and proud history. In 1956, several districts in the Whittier area began working together to support students with disabilities, officially becoming a joint powers authority in 1971. In 1977, when Special Education Local Plan Areas (SELPAs) were formed, WACSEP became the Whittier Area Cooperative SELPA as well. It is our privilege to provide many supports and services to our districts, staff, students, and families. 

Today, WACSEP serves seven member continguous school districts, covering approximately ninety square miles in southeastern Los Angeles County and includes the cities of Whittier, Pico Rivera, Santa Fe Springs, and parts of Norwalk and La Mirada, as well as the unincorporated areas of South Whittier and Los Nietos. Our member districts include:

  • East Whittier City School District
  • El Rancho Unified School District
  • Little Lake City School District
  • Los Nietos School District
  • South Whittier School District
  • Whittier City School District
  • Whittier Union High School District

We hope this website provides resources and information to our families, community, and district staff, so we can all work together for our students' success.

Serving Students with Disabilities Since 1971